Alphabet follow up, your Trauma Kit






So after last weeks post I got a lot of questions about Trauma Kits, what should be in an Individual Trauma Kit and who should carry one. Well to answer the last question first I think everyone who lives any place where there is a chance that there will be a natural disaster should carry one at the very least in their 72 Hour Bag. If you are law enforcement or a person who goes to a shooting range then you should have one IN your leg pocket. This isn’t because we’re afraid you are going to shoot yourself… It’s because some knuckle head at the end of the range doesn’t know what they are doing. Here’s an image of a guy who was hit at the range through both legs. I can not begin to say how many things they’re doing wrong in this image but just know you need to have your own Trauma Kit for you – it just makes sense.
TQ_Post-Accident_2

So what’s in a leg pocket Trauma Kit? Here’s the leg kit I carry in my 72 Hour Bag and is small enough to fit in my leg pouch when ever I go out and do things which are on the riskier side. Let me open it up and take you through the Items I keep in there. Most came from the Falcon Operations Group Tactical Medic class, but I’ve added a couple small items just to round it out.

IMG_1303

When I unzip my kit I want the first two things that are available to be my tourniquet and my H bandage. The reasons are obvious, blood loss is the first priority in the new CAB methodology. From here I try to assemble things in order of importance, but really it’s how stuff fits into the pack.


IMG_1323

IMG_1310IMG_1307

Right below the H bandage are two rolls of tape. Nestled in one of the rolls of tape are nitrile gloves. If you are trying to save your own life don’t take the time to put these on. They are there to protect you from some one else’s blood.

IMG_1318

Along with the immediate layer is my H and H Compressed Gauze, it’s a handle little bundle for plugging holes.

IMG_1319

Next I have my package of Celox handy, it’s quick and simple to use.

IMG_1308

Under the tourniquet and H and H Gauze is the Nasopharyngeal Airway. This is a device used to open an airway of a victim who may have had head trauma and they are having difficulty getting air through their mouth. The size I carry is a 28 French, which is the most common size for an adult. If you are taking care of kids you might want to get a smaller size.

IMG_1312 IMG_1311

Right after these items I have a trauma card. It’s some light reading when you have the time and can be tossed aside if you’re in a hurry.

IMG_1313IMG_1314

Next is your Ascherman Chest Seal. This is used if a patient has a sucking chest wound, meaning there is a hole in the chest cavity which causes air to leak into the cavity collapsing the lung. The seal has a one way valve which allows the lung to build pressure back up and evacuate the air from between the lung and the cavity. Notice on the corners I’ve pre tabbed the package to allow easier opening when things might get slippery from blood.

IMG_1306 IMG_1305

Here is a package of Petroleum Gauze, this is good to use on things such as burns because it is non adhering to the wound. It’s to package em up and get them to a facility which can deal with a traumatic injury of this kind. This puppy also has an expiration date so be on top of it.

IMG_1315

Tucked into a little pocket I have a zip lock baggy with a few items: Surgilube, surgical lubricant for the Nasopharyngeal Airway. In a pinch get a little tube of KY Jelly for your kit. I also have Antimicrobial wipes, two 2-0 sutures and a condom. If you are at the point where you need to start suturing a wound then you had better be on a deserted island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean after the plane has gone down or the ship has sank. The condom has many uses other than the preferred.

IMG_1316 IMG_1322

At the very back of my kit I have a couple of sleeves which allow me to tuck my tools neatly in a position which are easy to grab even though they are deepest in the kit. There is a large tube of Super Glue which you might want to try first before sewing your buddy up. I can tell you that if you have a wound on your arm and you’re alone I don’t care how good you are – you aren’t going to be able to tie a suture easily with your one good hand. Try the glue and save yourself a headache. Next are my Trauma Sheers, Forceps which act as a needle driver for the sutures and are a handy tool for a lot of other jobs. The next item is a Decompression Needle. This is if there has been trauma to the chest cavity causing a collapsed lung and pressure is building up inside the chest cavity – say from a broken rib puncturing the lung. This device is about the most advanced piece of gear in my kit and I’m not even going to describe how to use it. The decompression needle needs to be taught to you by a medical professional – PERIOD.  Below this are two safety pins. they can be used for all sorts of reasons, one being in extreme cases to pin a persons tongue to their lip to prevent choking.

IMG_1321

There are a couple on line sellers where you can get smaller IFAK kits, such as NARESCUE. This link leads to a kit which is $130 and requires a medical device authorization. Another site I like is ITS Tactical, they have a version of a personal trauma kit as well and ranges in price from $99-120. If you don’t want to get something as elaborate or as technical ITS also has an EDC kit which addresses blood loss only, but it’s a kit small enough to fit in your back pocket and it on;y about $70. Once again, you might want to take a class in all this stuff. It’s nothing to sneeze at, but knowledge is power, you can take it with you and it weighs nothing so knowing is better than not knowing.

One comment

Leave a Reply

